The Reason Why I Blog And Why You Should Too

Do you ever feel like you’re just existing in life?

Everyday is the same routine, maybe you’re depressed and need something else to focus on to take your mind off the bad things in life.

Well……maybe you need a kick up the backside and some motivation to get you out of that slump and that’s why I suggest to you

Starting a Blog!

The reason why I blog and why you should too yummymummystyleblog.wordpress.com blogging blog starting a blog kindness positivity happy quotes depression anxiety

The Reason why I blog and Why you should too

This is a rather long post and I urge you to grab a cuppa before starting.

It is however, worth reading if you suffer from depression and anxiety. It has helped me a lot with mental health issues and I hope that someone reads this who is not a blogger and hasn’t discovered blogging yet.

This Is the Story of my life and why I started blogging

How I discovered blogging

In the middle of July 2015 I was doing my own thing on twitter, you know….watching tv – tweeting about it, reading the news almost every hour, wondering  when they were going to find THAT PLANE – pouring my life down the drain YUP. One night I happened to post a competition tweet (something I done around once a week… if even, not like these days)

Well the company had posted the winner on their page and I went to investigate. I noticed the winner was just a page that posted competitions and that was it. I done more snooping and that’s when I saw lots of people were posting competition tweets so I thought why not give it a go?. So I made a new account and Tah Dah ….Welcome @cocobeans31. I never in a million years thought I would win anything as I don’t have that kind of luck but in fact I began to win things almost daily – I was in total shock.

It was in amongst all this when I began to notice people who blogged. I had never met or heard of anyone with a blog before, I did have a tumblr a few years back but it was nothing like this kind of blog. It was watching other bloggers posting about their family and lots of other creative things that made me feel very inspired.

This sounded like something I would absolutely LOVE to do.

My Life

I have sort of wasted my life away. When I was in my teens I used to read…a lot! I had visions of becoming a writer and would write stories all the time, I even got books that helped me become a better writer, not that they done much good – Hey! But it was something I really enjoyed. I would keep journals and all that kind of stuff but then I finally got out of school -thankfully, and I just wanted to go and earn some money. We never had much money when I was younger so it was essential that I got a job.  I also never found my calling – career wise, still haven’t until this day, although finding out more about blogging has changed that. ( Which I will get to soon.)

I was very shy and insecure about doing the things I really wanted to do back then and things happen in life that prevent you from getting to where you’re supposed to be sometimes, so I’ve always just went from job to job, mostly cleaning, working in factories, Hotels – physical work! Again wasting my life away doing something that I hated. I did try many times to apply for other jobs but they just won’t entertain you if you haven’t been in that role before, its extremely hard when they won’t even give you a chance to see how good you actually might be.

So life went on and I had my first son in 2008 and life changed forever! As it does when you have kids. The thought of ever going back to college to find something I wanted to do was certainly out of the question. I never worked for 3 years after Sean was born and I got very depressed after splitting up my with ex partner. I’ve always suffered with depression and anxiety which stems from my childhood of growing up with a suicidal mother who drank a lot, domestic violence in her relationship with my step dad, being in a relationship with domestic violence with my very 1st boyfriend ( not with the boy’s dad ) and bullying at school. Its all shaped me into the person I am today, be that good or bad – Strong or Weak.) I also take responsibility for my own failings too though. I just have really bad confidence issues.

Last year I made the mistake of falling pregnant again to my ex partner – the father of my first son, who I have no plans to get back with and now I have 2 sons that aren’t growing up in a family unit like I always hoped for. The boys have a great dad who lives close by and he would do anything for them which I’m very grateful for but I still feel like the family unit isn’t right, although my oldest son loves having 2 houses to go between, my youngest is affected by it all. Sleeping in different beds, having different routines in different houses, its all been a bit too much for me to handle trying to cope with a baby who won’t settle and is growing a face full of teeth in a short period of time.

So feeling like I’ve totally failed in life and being totally depressed with my whole situation, how would I ever find that thing that everyone but me seems to have

 Passion and Ambition.

I’ve been looking for it all my life and nothing’s ever took my fancy and after you have kids, you as a person are limited to what you can do, what hours you can work, childcare….EVERYTHING. Your needs and hobby’s go right out the window and dare I say it but you’re pretty much trapped! Now I’m not saying my life is wasted because I’ve had kids because my kids will always come before any job, hobby, man or friend but sometimes you get tired of doing things for other people and want to do something for you!

The reason why I blog and why you should too yummymummystyleblog.wordpress.com blogging blog starting a blog kindness positivity happy quotes depression anxiety

But lets stop writing about that depressive stuff

I bloody hope you’re still here!

Let me tell you what blogging has done for me and how much happiness its brought into my life in just 4 months.

Not only did I have all of the above on my mind, I have stuff I won’t reveal on my blog too, and it’s all been swept aside. You know why?

Blogging

Everyday since I started this blog I actually haven’t had any time to think of all the other stuff that makes me sad. Its given me a place to come to where I can share things about my children and not be judged by those who think its acceptable to post pictures of their beloved cats or dogs on a daily basis but moan when you post a very rare baby/kid picture. To share things that I created and be inspired by other people who can help in my pursuit of happiness, I’ve found new hobbies and a load of awesome people who are so welcoming and friendly they’re bringing me out of my social awkwardness a little more each day.

I eat sleep and dream about blogging. When I’m not working on a blog post, I’m on pinterest reading about blogging or reading people’s blog posts who I can relate to and that brings tears to my eyes in some cases. Now I haven’t wrote anything deep and meaningful before and I think this might be my longest ever post but right now I’m just having fun, playing about with my new hobby and working on educating myself everyday on how to become a better blogger and parent! I also have a list of social networks the size of my arm, trying keep up with them all is very hard.

  To come back to what I was saying about career wise at the top of this post – Blogging can also become a career, I know it sounds crazy but people are doing it! And I figured turning a hobby into something that makes money = something that you do that makes you happy, no more cleaning toilets or making other peoples beds, kapish?

The reason why I blog and why you should too yummymummystyleblog.wordpress.com blogging blog starting a blog kindness positivity happy quotes depression anxiety

 I have real passion for this and I think I can do it if I put in lots of hard work which I’m willing to do for something worthwhile out of life and if it does go down the pan then at least I’m still doing something that makes me happy. So there you go that’s why I started blogging.

But…..

You can’t just start a blog, oh no!

I done things all the wrong way.

I advise you to research blogging for at least 4 months prior to actually opening your account. Read all there is to know about blogging and how to do it and all the rules. Pinterest has information coming out of its ears with very useful blog posts and tips on how to go about it all but its something that’s worth doing, I promise you.

I set up my blog and from that moment on, I have been obsessed with blogging, its all I bloomin think about. My 7 year old will catch me staring into the distance and he’ll be like “you’re thinking about blogging again, aren’t you” and he’s RIGHT!

There is soooo much information and things that come along with blogging I’m not even a quarter way into it yet and there’s still lots to learn. It brings positivity into my life and I think it will do the same for you if you give it a go.

Now there’s 3 reasons I wrote this post

  1. being that the title was in my draft folder, waiting to be wrote eventually – to be slotted into my new about page that I’m going to re-create in the coming month or so.
  2. It’s something that’s made me happy recently
  3. There’s a small favour that I want to ask of you.

I have recently came across an awesome blogger who writes some great pieces of work and I think she deserves some traffic and a big ego boost! She also suffers from depression and anxiety. She doesn’t have a ‘niche’ and I think it might be breaking her confidence. She has spent a lot of time setting up a new linky  ( where this post will be added ) and I think it deserves some exposure and more people to add their links to it. It is called #happydiaries and you can find the link below

#happydiaries Linky

This linky is an alternative to a diary. People can either write happy diary posts, or link up existing posts about positive things that have happened to them recently. You can read more about it on the link above.

I think this is a great idea, a linky where you can write your own post specifically on something that makes you happy with no negativity, something that will make you happy when you go back and read it again. I tend to post negative stuff occasionally because I get stressed out by the kids. Well this is a place I can come to every week to write something that I was happy about that week and its also another post for people to read on a consistent basis so it does everyone a favour really! I know there is some negativity in this post at the beginning. I was just explaining how I feel about my life but the amount of happiness I feel because of blogging has totally overtook any negativity that this post may have. So that’s the way I see it.

This blogger is Called Tracey and she is over at The Anxious Dragon if you aren’t following her, please do as she is an excellent writer and you will enjoy reading her posts. You can also follow Tracey here on Twitter

Thanks for taking time out to read my post, it took me a number of days to complete and perfect, I haven’t wrote for a long time. Please share this post in hope that it gets seen by anyone who might be living with depression and also spread the kindness and make someone smile 🙂 You never know what might be going on in their lives.

Has blogging done the same for you?

How did you start blogging?

You can Follow Me on

Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | Bloglovin

I Love Finding New Blogs To Read So Feel Free To Drop Your Links

yummymummystyleblog.wordpress.com signature

Happy Diaries
A Bit Of Everything
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Reason Why I Blog And Why You Should Too

  1. Kirsty says:

    This is a great post, very honest! I am happy that you have found blogging and that you love it! I have blogged for many years but its only really been since I had my son a year ago that I have found my niche and I am working on making it bigger and better! Keep going, passion will take you everywhere x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the comment Kirsty. I was having a nose about your blog there and would love to follow you, i clicked onto your bloglovin but I’m not sure its the same blog? I think having children definitely gives you more to write about, although it gives you less time to blog x

      Like

  2. cynthiahm says:

    I have just recently discovered blogging too! I do love it and find it helps me stay positive. If you like, visit my blog at http://www.cindyscreativecorner.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. reimerandruby says:

    Well written post, I’ve enjoyed reading it from beginning til the end… since I started blogging 6 months ago, it drives my life in a positive way. It made me think of some important things for my blog rather than dwell with some problems or life issues which are nonsense. Most of all, It made me become proud of myself for owning a blog. #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is exactly how I feel, I’m not so good with the personal writing as yet because I’m quite a private person but after reading many posts from other people, I’ve realized its the private stuff that make me enjoy reading them, because they are so honest, so I need to be more open, thanks for commenting x

      Like

  4. Great post, I’ve been blogging for two years now and it started when I was facing a very unplanned pregnancy and has followed our family since then! It’s amazing, I’d recommend blogging to everyone! #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robyn says:

    I really enjoyed reading this and can relate to all of your reasons for blogging. I’ve also never had a calling although I’ve really enjoyed books and words all my life. Since I had a baby I still want to learn and feel productive, so blogging is an outlet for that. Like you I sometimes feel overwhelmed with everything there is to learn! #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

    • Blogging is a great way to feel like you’re actually doing something! It amazes me just how much I want to learn, I feel like theres never enough time in the day to learn, Sometimes I think its a bit unhealthy how much I think about it but I guess thats what passion feels like lol x

      Like

  6. ninaaikas says:

    I very much enjoyed your post! Sounds like you’ve been through a lot and I’m glad that you’ve found something that you really like to do!! It’s so important to have that creative outlet. I’ve been blogging for over two years now, and still enjoy it although there have been periods where I haven’t been as inspired – which is a natural thing. It’s been great to connect with you and I wish you all the best for you and your blog 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Nina I have enjoyed connecting with you too. I’m sure a time will come when I will feel too overwhelmed with having to post things all the time to keep people interested and will more than likely take a week off here and there to refresh my brain from being so overloaded with information and things to do. Some times I just want to sit down and watch TV, you know. Without thinking about the things I still have to do to get a post out. Blog photos are my main problem just now, Scotland is so dull from day to night how am I supposed to get a decent picture lol x

      Like

  7. Zoe Forde says:

    Love this post! I started blogging to raise awareness of mental health and chart my own journey. It’s been a fantastic experience and I’ve learned so much about myself, the digital media and other bloggers x #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Zoe, I’ve subscribed to your blog and followed you on bloglovin as your posts are very interesting I look forward to reading more of them, it’s great you’re so honest about mental health as I’m a hider lol hopefully blogging will help with that x

      Like

  8. Aw this is the loveliest post, you have made me cry (happy tears). My reasons for blogging are very similar to yours, I wanted something to find an outlet where I could use my voice, and connect with people. I never expected to get the amazing response that I do from people like yourself, it really does lift my spirits and make my heart lighter.
    Thank you so much again for your wonderful words and heres to our continued blogging adventure, Tracey xx #happydiaries xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting Tracey it’s great to meet people who have the same problems as you, it makes you feel less mental lol. People who understand what it’s like! I look forward to connecting with you more. I just read your new #happydiary post and I will comment on that soon too as I’m supposed to be blogging right now but me and my son are on the couch watching Liar Liar lol I’m so behind
      Pauline x

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Kirsty says:

    Great, honest post there – thanks for sharing 🙂
    I have just started blogging too. It’s something I’ve wanted to try for ages but didn’t have the confidence to go for it. Now I’ve just jumped into it and I definitely don’t regret it! 🙂

    Hope you can take a look – any tips or constructive criticism would be greatly appreciated 🙂

    KT xo

    numerotwentysix.blogspot.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  10. A heart-wrenching and heart-warming post one and at the same time. I have been blogging for 12 years and really don’t think I’d have managed that kind of personal, upfront and honest voice in my early days. From the words you wrote and those of the commenters here, I can feel that blogging is very much alive, yet daily, I meet cynics who say blogging is sooo old and dead. It is a form of communication that I think many children today would struggle with – long gone are school days when we had to write long essays on blank sheets. The blog post is a clean slate each time and can be daunting. I too have spent a week with posts in draft as I check, rewrite, find a different voice, ditch it and start again. I think you’ll be a massive inspiration to other new and not so new (!) bloggers. Do keep it up, kids and time allowing. It will also be a wonderful legacy for your children.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your lovely comment Liz, I have just discovered blogging please don’t tell me it’s dead lol because I’m going to be here for a while! I have followed along with your blog, I love reading blog tips and will be keeping an eye out for you
      Pauline xx

      Like

  11. agentspitback says:

    What a lovely post! Thank you for sharing! And you’re right, we should do more of what makes us happy. #abitofeverything

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

